Guess who downloaded another fucking software synth???

Kind of doing something real???

Alexander Severin Mortensen
3 min readNov 22, 2020

--

Well, the last time I made a real update was a long ass time ago, I did a little round up since then but I have been extra busy with work. I was on quarantine for a week though so what better time to fuck around with music?

I have also been fucking around a lot with Digits, and even though phase distortion was introduced to me as additive, it basically feels like a normal subtractive synth with some extra features, some of which I frankly don’t understand. It’s got 2 oscillators, a shit ton of LFOs, and 2 envelopes. Its also got an onboard delay, chorus, and bit crusher.

The much hyped on here Digits.

At any rate, I can get more or less all the sounds out of this that I can get out of something like Charlatan or whatever, plus some of its own weirdness. The most interesting thing it has are the oscillators can be “Saw”, “Square”, “Angry”, or “Angrier”. The latter two are what they sound like.

Xhip, pictured at the top, is just another subtractive synth but its a bit more flexible. It has 2 envelopes and 2 LFOs, all of which can be applied to most parameters at the same time. It’s also got some onboard effects. It has some quirks, like I made a white noise filter sweep just using one of the envelopes and the filter completely cut out before it went from the attack to the decay. Other than that it sounds good, I have synth string and synth horn patches in it that I really like, plus a fake Vangelis blade runner patch that I am trying to dial in still.

Anyway, the real meat of this update is that I was fucking around with a text to speech toy on the internet and it ultimately lead to this:

I am calling it “Telegram from Outer Space!” It is the Prologue to what will hopefully be a dumb instrumental synthpunk EP. Related to that, I am working on some effects I would like to use because I am a dumbass who gets drawn into endless tone questing, so here is a sound I am going to try to use:

Anyway here’s to making some weird shitty synth music.

e: So I did a new update. Turns out I haven’t written music regularly since I was like 22 and I am really off my game? Trying to do some songwriting exercises and checking out some drum synth VSTs.

--

--