I finally paid for something???

Did Some More Shit, Whatever

Alexander Severin Mortensen
2 min readDec 17, 2020

--

So, like last time, I am still scrimping for free time due to peak season at UPS, but I have been making a conscious effort to make music in my free time and not get bogged down in endless tone questing. So I have a few things. I don’t know if I have mentioned it yet but I finally broke down and bought Drumatic4, the drum synth shown above. It’s been a bit annoying to me that freeware options for actually synthesized drum sounds are basically non-existent, it’s all 606, 808, and 909 samples for anything lo fi which honestly I don’t really have any use for 808s in the kind of music I want to make. Anyway, 30 euros was worth the price of admission to have a not super lo-fi drum synthesizer. I haven’t really put it in a track yet but I think it will find a home in my productions for sure.

So I forced myself to sit down and write something simple because otherwise I overthink things way too much. Here’s half a 3 chord song in C Phrygian, its a tonewheel organ sound I made in DeXeD, the VCSO Orchestra percussion sampler, and a shitty Rhodes sound I made in xhip. I think I processed it with AirWindows Density and NonlinearSpace, Distorque Azurite and FaceBender, and GVST’s GLFO and GMax.

Fun little drum synth I found.

The other thing I have done recently is find a lo-fi drum synth (for free even) that does like, 8-bit sounding drums. It’s called ChipDrum (here, scroll down). I made a little song for some of the videos I make at my school job using it and GSinth2, from GVST.

Anway that’s basically what I’ve got. Check in again the one person who is reading these.

--

--